HomeEntertainmentAR Rahman, Ratna Pathak Shah, Anupam Kher on BAFTA Breakthrough India jury...

AR Rahman, Ratna Pathak Shah, Anupam Kher on BAFTA Breakthrough India jury 2022

Mumbai: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced a stellar list of jury members for the second year of the BAFTA Breakthrough India programme, supported by Netflix.

Well-known and prominent people across the film, games and television circuits came together to select talented ‘Breakthroughs’ for 2022. AR Rahman, BAFTA Breakthrough India’s Ambassador, chaired the jury.

In order to select between five to ten finalists from numerous applications by candidates, the jury met virtually on February 8, 2022, bringing to the table multiple perspectives and global knowledge across the film, games and television industry.

Full list of jurors for 2022 include:

  • AR Rahman – Jury chair (music composer, singer and music producer Breakthrough India ambassador & jury chair)
  • Krishnendu Majumdar (BAFTA chair and co-founder of Me + You Productions)
  • Monika Shergill (Vice president, content – Netflix India)
  • Anupam Kher (Actor)
  • Apurva Asrani (Writer)
  • Charu Desodt (Games producer & Breakthrough UK honouree (2014)
  • Gaurav Gandhi (Country Head, Amazon Prime Video India)
  • Guneet Monga, Breakthrough India supporter for film (Founder & CEO, Sikhya Entertainment; Film Producer)
  • Ratna Pathak Shah, Breakthrough India Supporter for TV/OTT (Actor, theatre director)
  • Shonali Bose (Director, writer & producer)
  • Siddharth Roy Kapur (Founder of Roy Kapur Films & producer)
  • Vishal Gondal, Breakthrough India Supporter for Games (Founder & CEO, GOQii; co-founder, nCore Games)

Also read: Bengali artistes recall hit songs with ‘trendsetter’ Bappi Lahiri

With the intention to bolster the new generation of rising talent in the country alongside those from the UK and USA, the programme arrived in India in 2020, selecting a total of ten instead of five (as initially planned) ‘Breakthroughs’ across film, games and television due to the countless quality applications received.

Once again, the chosen number of ‘Breakthroughs’ will receive professional development and career guidance, one-to-one industry meetings, full voting BAFTA membership and access to BAFTA events and networking opportunities, both in the UK and internationally.

In addition, this year’s Breakthrough India programme also saw an additional collaboration with practitioners Guneet Monga, Vishal Gondal and Ratna Pathak Shah from the Indian film industry.

AR Rahman, BAFTA Breakthrough India ambassador and jury chair said, “Being a part of BAFTA’s Breakthrough India jury and, in turn, its trailblazing journey to represent and celebrate artistes globally including India, is a privilege. The high-calibre applications we received stands testament to the fact that talent exists in abundance across the length and breadth of our country, seeking to showcase their art rooted in India’s richly diverse culture and heritage. It is important for us to identify, encourage and nurture talent not only in established industries such as cinema and television but also in emerging ones like gaming. Through the Breakthrough programme, we intend to offer such artistes brimming with talent and creativity a chance to cultivate and hone their craft, supported by industry knowledge and other networking opportunities. Last year, the debut cohort of talents proved that India houses extraordinary creatives, and platforms like BAFTA Breakthrough provide the wind to help them set sail their ship and leave an impactful legacy.”

Monika Shergill, Vice President, Content, Netflix India said, “India has such a vast bouquet of talent with a marked appetite for unique storytelling and format experimentation. After the highly successful first edition in 2021, this year we’ve deepened our focus on representing diverse Indian voices and choosing those who have been able to showcase a true sense of originality across genres in a deeply meaningful way. The BAFTA Breakthrough programme is about discovering new voices and encouraging their vision and creativity.”

The final list of Breakthroughs will be announced in March 2022.

Previously known as ‘Breakthrough Brits’, the highly successful Breakthrough programme has been running in the UK since 2013, China since 2019 and the USA and India since 2020. By nurturing an open creative, and cultural conversation, the initiative supports newly emerging talent across film, games and television in these countries to witness them flourishing in their respective disciplines in the future.

While the programme has championed over 165 talented newcomers, including Tom Holland, Letitia Wright, Josh O’Connor, Florence Pugh, Jessie Buckley, Ray Panthaki, Callum Turner and more, the debut cohort of ‘Breakthroughs’ of BAFTA India Breakthrough includes Akshay Singh, Arun Karthick, Jay Pinak Oza, Karthikeya Murthy, Palomi Ghosh, Renu Savant, Shruti Ghosh, Sumit Purohit, Tanya Maniktala and Vikram Singh.


Also Read

- Advertisment -spot_img