HomeUncategorizedRussia bans Trudeau, Biden and other top US officials from entering country

Russia bans Trudeau, Biden and other top US officials from entering country

Moscow: Russia’s foreign ministry on Tuesday announced a ban on United States President Joe Biden and a dozen other top officials’ entry into the country in a response to US sanctions. Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is also on the “stop list”.

The measure also applies to Secretary of State Antony Blinken and Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin, and former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton.

It “is the consequence of the extremely Russophobic policy pursued by the current US administration”, the Russian foreign ministry said in a statement.

In response to Russia’s military intervention in Ukraine, US President Joe Biden had banned imports of Russian oil, liquefied natural gas and coal to his country, calling it a “significant action with widespread bipartisan support that will further deprive (Russian) President (Vladimir) Putin of the economic resources” over his decision to continue the war against Ukraine.

Russia has also put on its ban list Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Mark Milley, National Security Advisor Jake Sullivan, Central Intelligence Agency Director William Burns and White House Press Secretary Jen Psaki.

Deputy National Security Advisor Daleep Singh, US Agency for International Development chief Samantha Power, Deputy Treasury Secretary Adewale Adeyemo, and US Export-Import Bank chief Reta Jo Lewis are also on the list.

Psaki had a laugh over the ban. “I would first note that President Biden is a “junior” so they may have sanctioned his dad, may he rest in peace,” she said during her regular daily briefing.

“The second piece I would say is… that none of us are planning tourist trips to Russia and none of us have bank accounts that we won’t be able to access, so we will forge ahead.”

An amused Clinton said in a tweet: “I want to thank the Russian Academy for this Lifetime Achievement Award.”

The last time Biden visited Russia was in 2011, as Barack Obama’s vice-president.

Also read: Ukraine crisis: Anti-war protesting journalist on Russian TV fined


Also Read

- Advertisment -spot_img