HomeEntertainmentShekhar Kapur to adapt Amish Tripathi’s The Immortals of Meluha into series

Shekhar Kapur to adapt Amish Tripathi’s The Immortals of Meluha into series

Mumbai: If you are an Amish Tripathi fan, this will surely make you jump with joy. Director Shekhar Kapur is all set to direct a series based on Tripathi’s The Immortals of Meluha, the first book of the Shiva Trilogy. The much-awaited series will soon start streaming on a popular OTT platform.

Joining Kapur, who is known for films like Mr India and Bandit Queen, will be Suparn S Varma. He will also be the showrunner and co-director of the series too. Suparn’s last directorial venture was Amazon Prime Video’s insanely hit Family Man 2.

Also read: Police force deployed outside Russian stall at Kolkata Book Fair, readers unfazed

In an interview with Variety, Kapur said, “Amish’s Shiva Trilogy has been India’s great publishing sensation, crossing every age and class. It’s not just mythology, it’s modern storytelling at its best. Lending itself to a beautiful international series.”

For Varma, the The Immortals of Meluha is a genre-defining book. “It has become part of the pop-culture of the country. I loved the reimagining and the world-building. The scale of vision and the ambition of our show visually and emotionally is as huge a task but we want to bring to audiences a vision that has never been seen before on screens,” Variety quoted the Family Man 2 director.

Also read: In Kolkata, author Patrick Deville talks plague, cholera amid Covid-19 pandemic

The celebrated author, however, cannot think of a better team to adapt the series on OTT. Taking to Twitter, he wrote, “Can’t think of a better team than @shekharkapur, @RoyPrice and @Suparn to bring the Shiva Trilogy and the world of Meluha to an OTT platform! Very excited to share this news with all of you!” Roy is one of the most successful executives in Hollywood, who is known for churning out Emmy and BAFTA-winning series.  

The Immortals of Meluha starts with the arrival of the Shiva. This book is followed by The Secret of the Nagas (2011) and The Oath of the Vayuputras (2013).

Also Read

- Advertisment -spot_img